Skip to content

Light & Atmosphere in Death Valley

5 out of 5

A fabulous workshop in all ways (except the food, which Robert couldn't help). Death Valley is a vast place, easily overwhelming, but with Robert's excellent advance scouting and guidance, we were able to find the most photogenic spots at the right times. He offered real time tips for composition without being overbearing, and followed through with image review sessions both at our motel and a couple of weeks later. Rob is also a master of Lightroom editing techniques which he teaches with gentle deference with our own images. A true artist who helped me grow in multiple dimensions.

Patrick Malone
March 19, 2024

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

I did Robert’s online Printmaker Masterclass during the COVID Pandemic after acquiring a Canon imagePROGRAF Pro-4100 large-format printer. That course was super helpful, and it put me on Robert’s mailing list. When I saw his newsletter announcement about the 5-Day Acadia Workshop this spring, I decided to go for it. The Acadia workshop was absolutely wonderful. As promised, it pushed me beyond my comfort zone and really helped me develop my artist vision. I learned an incredible amount and thought that the format was perfect. Robert knows Acadia National Park extremely well, so we were going out to wonderful sites every morning and afternoon. He used a very effective individualized approach with each of the five of us in explaining concepts. As an educator myself, I was very impressed with Robert’s teaching methods. The Lightroom editing get togethers in the middle of the workshop days were a really nice touch. We had a culminating 3-hour Zoom editing session last night (a few weeks after getting home from the trip with enough time in-between to review our captured images). Going through images from each of the 5 workshop participants (classmates) last night, we talked about what worked and what didn’t, and addressed some of the challenges in Adobe Lightroom. The workshop accomplished what I wanted it to, and it was extremely enjoyable in the process. I’ll be back for more.

Brad Pollock
June 22, 2023

Hudson River School Capture to Print Workshop

5 out of 5

Once again, Robert’s workshop lived up to my expectations! ‘And the weather cooperated to avoid any possible disappointment. This was a workshop that took the theme of vision-to-print, and so it was a first experience in doing the entire workflow through the print. This was particularly valuable in getting some first-hand look at what goes into making a good print - one that best matches the vision behind the captured image. Along with that was a first-hand experience of what can also go wrong when there are issues around correct color profiles for the paper. That was actually particularly valuable as a learning experience. Robert certainly pushed my thinking, when it comes to creating compositions outside my comfort areas. That is always highly valuable in honing technique. A hallmark of Robert’s teaching is that he does it in a very personable way and is always ready to share all he knows, and his perspective on compositional and post-processing techniques. It’s clear that impactful images can be created without resorting to dramatic post edits. That’s the choice of some photographers, but I particularly appreciate Robert’s approach. ‘So this was very all worthwhile, and the entire group enjoyed the experience. I look forward to the next opportunity for a workshop with Robert.

Hillel Brandes
November 2, 2021

Hudson River School Capture to Print Workshop

5 out of 5

Robert is both an artist and a craftsman of the highest order. He generously shares his vision and technical knowledge in an accessible and friendly way that inspires students like me to take our own photography to a much higher level than I would have thought possible. The printing aspect of the workshop has many technical features but ultimately deepens one's commitment when you see the tangible results on a sheet of art paper in front of you. Bravo and thanks!

Patrick Malone
October 31, 2021

Light & Atmosphere in Death Valley

5 out of 5

I have wanted to go and photograph Death Valley for a long time. when Robert offered this workshop I jumped at the chance to attend. this is my 2nd workshop with Robert. Robert scouted areas ahead of the class and knew the best times to photograph there and how long it would take to drive to each location. Robert says about the preplanning, “ that is my job”, but this takes a lot of effort and dedication to make the best experience for his students. In between photo shoots,we met in a conference room and Robert discussed composition in more detail. we also had time to work on the photos we had made and Robert made suggestions for improvement. about 2 weeks after the workshop, the students had a webnair meeting with Robert where he reviewed 4 images we had sent to him in an advance. i am very pleased with the progress i have made in my composition skills from this workshop. i look forward to taking more workshops from Robert! Thank you again Robert for all your effort to make a great experience! Karen

Karen Kerwick
February 11, 2020

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I've had the privilege to attend a number of Robert's field workshops, and now in January, 2020, the Fine Art Printing Master Class. All of these have in common an experience that's highly concentrated (no fluff) and provides excellent value for the cost involved. I came to the class with some prior, disappointing experience with printing on both all-in-one and dedicated photo printers. My hopes were to learn both the technical and aesthetic fundamentals behind making good prints. I was not disappointed. Robert clearly knows his craft in depth, and his eagerness to share that knowledge is, in a word, delightful. Highly recommended.

Jeff
February 2, 2020

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

This wasn’t the first workshop I’ve participated in with Robert, but it was the first multi-day event. This was certainly worthwhile and very enjoyable. Robert does a great job of learning to know a place before taking students there. This is not only where, but when, at least as regards light. I think the only disappointment is not having enough time to explore all that a location has to offer, and that’s not a bad thing...it can mean returning on my own, for further immersion. Robert also manages an optimal balance between structured time and free time. Free time is necessary, but it’s the structured time that makes it a workshop. Robert does a great job of providing individual attention with giving students the freedom to work on their own. If I sought advice, Robert was available and ready with valuable input. Within the structured time, I think there was also an appropriate balance between field time and classroom time. I also had the fortune of the whole group getting along and us enjoying our time together, both in the field, classroom, and with free time. I welcome the next opportunity to participate in one of Robert’s workshops.

Hillel Brandes
January 2, 2020

Light & Atmosphere in Death Valley

5 out of 5

I found the Death Valley workshop wonderful. Robert planned our days so that we were very productive but we also had some down time to work on our images. It was great going with someone who had excellent knowledge of the area and a well planned schedule to be able to maximize our photographic opportunities. Robert is an exceptional teacher and I look forward to taking other workshops with him in the future. David

David Kaplan
December 3, 2019

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

This was an outstanding workshop. The locations were well thought out, the logistics were well handled. Robert spent time with each student, and was fully focused on teaching. He used his iphone camera to take pictures on site to illustrate different ways of seeing. Robert also showed some of his prints on various papers. This was done not to sell the prints, but to illustrate how different kinds of papers suited different kinds of photographs. I enjoyed the fact that the workshop was five days, as I did not feel rushed. After the workshop, Robert provided a wealth of supplemental material online to reinforce and supplement the guidance he gave during the workshop. By great fortune, the workshop participants were a delight to be with. Robert's passion for photography in particular, and for the creative process in general, was inspirational. I came away with more "keepers" from this workshop than from any other one I've attended.

Colin Barnett
October 22, 2019

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

I felt that Robert would be a great teacher after watching him in a B&H presentation. My expectations were surpassed as he also inspired me and enhanced my love for photography. He adeptly provides so much valuable information in presentations and also in casual conversations. I found his guidance especially helpful in the field as I was composing a scene - his subtle changes had dramatic impact in the image. Thank you, thank you. Well worth the money, time and work. And I made new friends during the workshop. Robert's workshop application process contributed to forming a group of students who were similarly motivated and skilled. Thank you, Robert.

Leslie Landerkin
October 22, 2019

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

This was my first real photography workshop. I am now really spoiled as the number of workshop participants was only 5 students. Robert was cognizant to different skill levels and learning styles giving individual attention to each member. He also is a remarkable photographer and in addition to sunrise and sunset photography shoots we had 2 hours of afternoon instruction and learning which were very illustrative and important to our photography shoots each day. I was also very impressed as his focus was on his students not his own photography, he unlike other instructors I observed was not out to do his own shooting and photography.

Tana Ebbole
October 22, 2019

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

This was my first photography workshop and it exceeded all of my expectations. Robert works in a small group so as to allow him ample time with each participant. As indicated in a prior review the value far exceeds the cost of the workshop. Robert knows the many photo locations in Arcadia like the back of his hand and forced us to grow and learn to apply the principles he taught on each early morning and evening shoot.

Charles Cino
October 22, 2019

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert's Fine Art Printing workshop was a great experience for me. I've done printing previously but had encountered some hurdles and needed some help to get past them. He answered all my questions and provided excellent information on papers and other resources for people who love to print their images. Well organized and engaging teaching style. I highly recommend his workshop.

Justine Carson
October 15, 2019

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

I had a great time on this workshop. The small class size, combined with Robert's great knowledge of photography and the park, made it easy to advance my photography skills (and take some fine pics). Robert really makes a great effort to get to know, and individually work with, each of the workshop participants. I'm really looking forward to working with Robert again.

Jeff Coyle
July 2, 2019

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

The Acadia workshop exceeded my expectations. Robert is an outstanding instructor and conveyed valuable information to each student.

John Gorton
June 17, 2019

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

Thank you Robert for teaching me to see. During the week we had the perfect range of weather for a workshop - fog, rain, sun, clouds! The images are amazing and what I learned from you and others in our friendly group will change my approach to artistic photography from now on... Thank you.

zbrett
June 17, 2019

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

The week was one of my most memorable ever. The small class size worked out very well. The daily schedule normally began at 4:20 a.m. returning to Moab around 9:00 for breakfast which was a time to interact on a personal basis with the others. The time between 1:30 p.m. to about 3:00 p.m. was spent going over Robert's approach to fine art outdoor photography. Around 4:30 p.m. it was time to travel to our sundown location. While on location (both morning and evening), Robert would spend individual time with each one of us, helping us to put into practice principles that were being emphasized. In sum, the workshop clearly exceeded expectations and I now have five new lifelong friends who share the same passion for fine art imaging. This was a life changing experience. If you have the chance to join a Robert Rodriguez Jr. workshop, do it! You will most certainly be glad you did.

Allan Vasenius
May 28, 2019

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert is a giving instructor who is a true believer in sharing the sharing of knowledge. I found the two day workshop to be straightforward, well thought out, and packed with information. Robert took the time to address any questions and dealt with whatever we threw at him in a professional manner.

Chris Neyen
May 13, 2019

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert is a great and inspiring Landscape Photographer, and just seeing how he works and composes is a treat. I also learned a lot about printing, and although I use Lightroom mostly for basic adjustments and then edit in Photoshop, I found things that are just as efficient (and easier) in Lightroom thanks to his mastery. He has a really easy, conversational style of teaching, and the reduced number of attendants helps to get individualised attention and speeds up learning. A wonderful workshop which I would recommend to anyone. It has been a privilege to get to know Robert and work with him.

Irene Del Pino
May 4, 2019

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

This was a fantastic workshop! I learned so much and really appreciated Robert's style of teaching. He took complex and dense information and put it in simple organized terms without diluting any of the info. I feel much more prepared to move forward with digital printing in both my teaching and personal practice.

jessomers
November 24, 2018

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

I stumbled across Robert on Youtube. After I watched the 1st, video I continued to watch every video of Robert’s I could find. I felt his personality, teaching style and knowledge would help me to grow. I attended the “Spring in the Southwest” workshop in May of 2018. Thank you Robert for being an inspirational mentor for photography and modeling the attitudes needed for being successful in a creative life! The small class size allows Robert to give you one to one coaching that helps you make your image stronger. Even though we didn’t go into detail about LR functions, his presentation in the lecture part of the class made a significant difference in how I approach working with my raw files. I am currently going back over many of my favorite photos and reworking them using Robert’s approach and then comparing them. This showed me that I had done more editing work than was necessary on many of them. Robert has extensive and detailed knowledge of the parks. He also takes you to beautiful places away from the crowds where you can relax and not be dodging tourists while trying to thoughtfully compose your shot. Robert’s preparation and planning made the class fun, creative, safe and run smoothly. I highly recommend this workshop and ANY workshop that Robert offers!!!

doublevisionstudio
November 8, 2018

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert is an excellent teacher -- articulate, well organized, and knowledgeable. I learned much more than I expected and left feeling empowered to apply what I'd learned. I strongly recommend this workshop to anyone interested in improving their Lightroom processing and printing skills.

Saman Majd
July 27, 2018

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

I had a truly extraordinary experience, in the deepest sense, during the Spring in the Southwest workshop. I love nature and I love the art of photography. I'm a desert rat by birth so I am naturally drawn to the magic of this part of the world where the forces of water and wind have so beautifully sculpted this ancient landscape, where first and last light turn on the glow of the rich color of the sandstone. Robert has done his research and is an excellent guide taking us to locations that offered a multitude of photography opportunities while avoiding the ever growing crowds at the iconic locations. The space Robert created with the workshop allowed me to be within myself in the most simple and profound way while learning about light and composition and further discovering my vision. Robert is fully dedicated to being with each of his students and committed to making his, (I can hear him saying he is going to plug his ears for this), creative genius available for his students to learn from. That being said, I feel his most powerful and effective talent as a teacher is gently guiding his students to discover our own path for discovery, passion and learning. Part of what attracted me to join this workshop was who I sensed Robert is as a human being, humble, passionate for life first, then learning and helping others learn, then photography. I believe the chemistry of our group was a reflection of these traits. We had such a fun and enjoyable time with each other and I am grateful to have made new friendships with five other wonderful people. The experience was trans-formative for my life and my photography. Give yourself a gift and take advantage of what Robert is offering, you will be grateful you did.

Jim Doolittle
May 31, 2018

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

My initial exposure to the teaching style of Robert was during the Printing Masterclass. Interestingly I learned much about my approach to photography and my many opportunities to improve through his thoughtful guidance. In particular in the areas of composition and finding the visual 'art' . On the Moab trip I was able to advance my knowledge about the technical aspects of making an image and why composition impacts the final result. Elements of composition guide decisions leading to visually pleasing results and a true reflection of what you witnessed and experienced in the field. One of my goals has been to get my images off the computer hard drive and begin enjoying them with family and friends. Robert has the patience and skill sets to take your photography to a new level and deliver on tangible results. As said in a review above - do it!

craig.cookcle
May 29, 2018

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

Just do it! My son and I had the pleasure of joining Robert and three other amazing people in Moab this year and all I can say is I wish I had done this a long time ago. This workshop was a true joy and I learned so much. Robert emphasizes fundamental concepts and then works with you to help you realize your creative vision. It’s more of a “teach a man to fish” approach that will help you feed, and create, for a lifetime. He won’t give you the “fish”, you will need to work for it, but put in the effort and the lasting rewards will come. This approach, coupled with his ability to read people and meet them where they are at, make Robert an exceptional teacher. I’ve read photography books, watched youtube videos, listened to podcasts, and visited forums but there is nothing as effective as receiving realtime guidance in the field from someone as skilled and personable as Robert. If you want to progress as a photographer, nothing beats this immersive experience. Add to this the fact you are in Moab with a group of fellow photographers eager to learn and share - it’s a great time.

Brian Keyes
May 23, 2018

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert has very vast and in-depth knowledge of printmaking craft. And this is a unique opportunity to learn from him. His fine art printing class is very educational.

denko.imaging
March 27, 2018

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I also took the class a few weeks ago. As photographers of varying skill levels, we search for ways to improve our work. Discovering new ways to look at light, forms, textures, and color. Appreciating what pi ratios, Fibonacci spirals, symmetry and dynamic asymmetry are, to begin with, how to apply them, and when to break the rules. How to look at your object and "see" the potential compelling photos. Some of us are more instinctive with this than others but we all seek to improve. But to what end? To view it on a monitor? To show your family and friends them on your cell phone or iPad? Do you really take the time to appreciate how good a few of those might actually be? This class takes you to the next step. Robert shows you how to unleash the beauty captured on your digital sensor. He shows you why what you capture on your sensor may not be at all what you actually saw and how to recover it. In working with the participant's images in LR, he shows us his approach to editing photos along with many, many helpful tools in editing in LR and how to use them (or in my case, how not to use them). Unless you have extensive LR knowledge, you WILL learn useful tricks in editing. Then finally, Robert takes you through the huge difference choosing your printing substrate has on enhancing your print and the characteristics of each. Holding your image in your hand printed on high-quality paper in comparison to less expensive RC paper you might be using at home was a mind-blowing difference. Thanks Robert for an outstanding job! I'm looking forward to learning more tips from his upcoming video series on printing as well. After taking this class, I'm sure that will be outstanding as well.

Scott Jahnke
March 18, 2018

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I took Robert's Fine Art Printing Masterclass in late Feb. 2018. It was two days of solid work which covered from processing the print to printing it. Robert also covered all the various things he uses and/or recommends for making a good print. I love photography and have had a printer that is capable of good prints for some time but have never been able to make prints without ending up frustrated. The result of this is that I really gave up printing for the most part. Robert's class has given me a new outlook and capability in printing and I look forward to being able to put what I learned in action on my printer. I highly recommend this class to anyone who wants to do fine art printing.

Joel Bateman
March 17, 2018

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I though I knew how to print a digital image, but within a few hours I was aware of how much more there was to learn. As a teacher Robert exceeded all my expectations. He explains not only the technical aspects of producing a fine art print, but also the artistic issues that must accompany the printmaking effort. His teaching style is excellent, there's never a "dumb question" and he always makes sure that you understand a concept before he moves on. The small class size is fantastic (my class was a great group of 4), and the studio facilities top-notch. Highly recommended!!

Bruce Berlin
January 31, 2018

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Given the expense associated with making fine art prints, I've been very tentative about using my printer, due to minimal satisfaction with the results and not having a firm understanding of how best to realize my vision in my prints. After attending this class, my apprehension is gone and I'm excited to pursue print making (and my photography) with new found passion. Robert goes beyond explaining the mechanics of getting a print from screen to paper, he shares his insights into the artistic consideration that goes into making a print. The small class size fosters a convivial experience, shared by people with a similar passion. Robert's presenting style is engaging and lively; his pacing was spot on. I plan to attend his other classes/workshops.

Leslie Pestaina
January 30, 2018

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Sometime in the middle of the afternoon of the first day I realized how little I knew about getting the most out of Lightroom and my printer and paper selection. Robert brought it all together in a comprehensive and easily understandable way. It was clear from the start that Robert loves to teach and I totally enjoyed the class.

dekaplan
November 24, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

If you are looking to take your printing skills to the next level, this workshop is for you. Great presentation of material by Robert; a perfect blend of technique and artistry. I left the weekend with a solid sense of direction for trying out the range of printing papers used in the workshop. It is also very satisfying to spend a weekend with a small group of people who are passionate about photography.

Robert Martin
October 19, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

The Printing Masterclass exceeded my expectations. When I returned home I immediately opened Lightroom and using techniques acquired printed a great image I had made in Yosemite. When you have a professional like Robert guide you it makes all the difference. The unexpected learning for me was linking the 'art' with the mechanics. I am a believer now that without the visual art, the best camera, software, and printer are essentially useless in making a fine print.

craig.marshfield
October 18, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert really gives a great informative workshop. He is such a teacher of his craft. His presentation skills were the best. The walk through of each person's photo from start to finish was invaluable. So much was learned through this process. Class size was perfect. He had both Epson and Canon printers. He shows you some of the tools of the trade. It was just an awesome course, well worth it.

Anthony Mulea
September 23, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

This was an excellent experience. Robert is a great instructor, and the topics covered were very valuable. From properly editing photos, to paper selection, to color management, and even presentation, it was a well rounded class. I highly recommend anyone to take this course.

morgancole
September 23, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert’s Fine Art Printing Masterclass was fabulous! He covered so much in just two days. I really appreciated his technical advice and suggestions in all areas. But what was most meaningful for me was the way he talked about photography as an art form, displaying his deep respect and passion for it. He conveys that respect, and joy, through every aspect of his teaching, sharing his artistic aesthetic as he creates and evaluates images. I know I will be reflecting on what I learned for a long time.

Cheryl Aden
July 27, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Joanne - June 30, 2017 I recently took Robert’s Digital Fine Art Printer Masterclass. I’ve taken webinars, watched youtube and read Robert’s blog; all which are informative and a real learning experience. However, having the opportunity to spend two full days learning the craft of printing, listening/watching Robert work through photos in LR was truly an in-depth educational experience. He covered all aspects of printing, including sharing his vision and workflow in LR. I feel I left with so much more than expected. Great teachers love their subject deeply and as a student I got to take a bit of that away with me. I highly recommend this class.

joannedoyle
June 30, 2017

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

I am so grateful to have had this photographic journey in a treasured part of these United States under Roberts guidance. Thank you for sharing your wealth of knowledge of landscape photography. The workshop was worth every penny and I saw my photos improve with each passing day! I brought home some photo treasures that I will savor throughout my lifetime. Roberts workshop in Utah was filled with fun and instruction from pre-sunrise to after sundown. We were lucky to have a fun group of photographers eager to learn and absorb the daily guidance that Robert provided. If I needed extra instruction, Robert was there to offer assistance at any time. The classroom work was also very constructive to photographers of all levels. Robert made sure to talk about issues and answer questions from the most simple to more complex. I highly recommend this workshop and ANY workshop that Robert offers for Landscape Photography. If possible, I plan to attend another workshop in Acadia and his printing workshop in a few years. Cheers to Robert! I learned a lot and it is evident in my photos!

Linda Henderson
May 22, 2017

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

This was an excellent workshop in every way. It was physically demanding , with sunrise and sunset photo shoots that typically lasted four hours each, plus classroom instruction. We went to some off-the-beaten-path venues that made the time really special. Rob has a real talent for gently steering you to see the compositional possibilities in the gorgeous settings he took us to. I felt I grew immensely as a photographer and would love to do this again. I put some of my photos from the trip here: https://www.flickr.com/gp/53535718@N06/43yn2c

Patrick Malone
May 19, 2017

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

Just got back from last weeks Spring in the Southwest workshop. I can't recommend it enough. Robert is extremely knowledgeable about the area and about what makes a great landscape photo. The group is small enough so that Robert gets to know you and what you need to improve as a photographer. As mentioned we hit some of the well known areas in Arches and Canyonlands , but the out of the way areas really made the trip. Hope to do another in the future.

Bill Hains
May 16, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

The workshop was a great experience. Not only were the printmaking topics covered in a thorough, clear, and well-organized manner, I feel I got "bonus" lessons in creativity and inspiration. Highly recommended.

Jerry
March 14, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

The workshop is excellent. I learned much more about Lightroom, proper image processing, printing and paper selection than I hoped. If you are at all interested in printing and presenting your photos as art I highly recommend this workshop. It is a very busy 2 days, but worth every minute.

Bruce
March 9, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

This was my 2nd workshop with Robert. I first took the class in 2016 and left inspired to take my images to a new level. This workshop will offer you the ability to analyze your work and determine how the "finish print" could heighten the overall experience of your image. In this workshop I was able to learn the importance of organization as Robert does dedicate time to understanding workflow. You will also learn how to effectively edit your images and choose a print medium that is most suitable for your picture. Personally I have attended many classes and workshop in my years doing photography and if I may share, Robert's class is unique, as it allows your images to leave your computer and come to life. I highly recommend this workshop, you will leave inspired and with a wealth of information.

Margaret Ramirez
February 12, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

This is my second time taking Robert’s Fine Art Printing Class, and it was worth every penny! There are so many things to say about it, but let me first start by saying that this is more than just a class on how to use Light room, although I love that part of it and you will learn Light Room. Robert takes you on a printing journey by discussing all aspects of fine art printing and presentation. I feel this class is for those that want to take their photography to the next level, meaning beyond just looking at images on your screen. I think in today’s world what separates a good photographer from a great photographer is the print, that final expression that you can actually touch, and relate to in ways that a screen alone cannot offer. I love the range of topics that he covers, and for those interested in a good, solid intro to framing, he covers that too! What other printing workshop does all this, not many that I know of and I have taken numerous workshops all across the country. This one is special. Robert is an incredible teacher, and fosters discussion and projects a level of enthusiasm that is contagious. I highly recommend this class whether you are just beginning or on your way to that next step.

Jorge Monteagudo
February 2, 2017

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

As an Admirer of Roberts work, I finally took a class with him. The master printing class. Robert is extremely knowledgable and enthusiastic. You will learn so much it's hard to take it all in. But no worries because Robert will gladly email the answers to any questions you may have afterward. Besides being a great photographer Robert wants to truly help you become a better photographer. Can't wait to take a class out in the field with him.

cecilhains
November 4, 2016

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

This is my second workshop with Robert and first in the field. Robert is an excellent instructor and inspiration to photographers at all levels and Acadia is just the location to get those creative juices flowing. I can not recommend this workshop high enough to those at all levels hoping to improve their skills and hone their vision in the field. The group was just the right size to allow for one-on-one help and group growth. I will be going on future workshops with Robert without a doubt.

James Johnston
October 26, 2016

Acadia Fall Adventure

5 out of 5

This is my second workshop with Robert and first in the field. Robert is an excellent instructor and inspiration to photographers at all levels and Acadia is just the location to get those creative juices flowing. I can not recommend this workshop high enough to those at all levels hoping to improve their skills and hone their vision in the field. The group was just the right size to allow for one-on-one help and group growth. I will be going on future workshops with Robert without a doubt.

James Johnston
October 26, 2016

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

Five stars does not adequately describe my workshop experience. The location was amazing with a variety of subjects; the timing was perfect – we hit the peak of fall foliage; and the weather helped us at every opportunity. Robert knew where and when to go within the Acadia park. Robert is clearly dedicated to helping his students. He is knowledgeable on a variety of subjects, beyond cameras and music. He is willing and able to assist you in the field as well as in the classroom sessions. His sense of timing is great. When I needed advice or suggestions, he was just around the corner. The Acadia workshop was one of the best I have attended. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to improve their landscape photography skills. If you are unsure about signing up, take a look at some of Robert’s videos that are available online.

Peter Block
October 23, 2016

Acadia Fall Adventure

5 out of 5

Five stars does not adequately describe my workshop experience. The location was amazing with a variety of subjects; the timing was perfect – we hit the peak of fall foliage; and the weather helped us at every opportunity. Robert knew where and when to go within the Acadia park. Robert is clearly dedicated to helping his students. He is knowledgeable on a variety of subjects, beyond cameras and music. He is willing and able to assist you in the field as well as in the classroom sessions. His sense of timing is great. When I needed advice or suggestions, he was just around the corner. The Acadia workshop was one of the best I have attended. I would highly recommend it to anyone wanting to improve their landscape photography skills. If you are unsure about signing up, take a look at some of Robert’s videos that are available online.

Peter Block
October 23, 2016

Acadia Fall Adventure

5 out of 5

This was an outstanding workshop. Logistically everything was well-organized and efficient, and there could no be a better location for this learning opportunity. This session gave me the opportunity to work on my ability to "see" and organize the elements of an image in a manner that enhances my creativity. It had the right mix of field, classroom and one on one instruction. Robert is a passionate photographer and a great teacher. I would urge any photographer to take this workshop. No matter how good your skills may be, you will leave this session with another set of creative tools that will improve your work.

Ed Sanford
October 22, 2016

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

This was an outstanding workshop. Logistically everything was well-organized and efficient, and there could no be a better location for this learning opportunity. This session gave me the opportunity to work on my ability to "see" and organize the elements of an image in a manner that enhances my creativity. It had the right mix of field, classroom and one on one instruction. Robert is a passionate photographer and a great teacher. I would urge any photographer to take this workshop. No matter how good your skills may be, you will leave this session with another set of creative tools that will improve your work.

Ed Sanford
October 22, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert has a passion for photography and teaching and a heart for people. Our Fine Art Printing Masterclass workshop had students at different levels of development and we all were inspired and given the tools and education to become fine art printers. The class is small so everyone received individual attention. Robert's high energy and enthusiasm made the time fly by. I have attended other photography workshops and this one was the best. He delivered what he promised and we had fun doing it. There is no substitute for holding paper and seeing prints in person. I never realized that there is an art to choosing the correct paper for a particular image and for bringing out the artists personal vision for the story he is telling in that image. Loved it!

Scott K
August 30, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

An exceptional teacher who helps you consider many aspects of a topic in order to not only learn the details but also form your own opinions. I'm sure this won't be the last class I take from Robert. Well done!

mark3
August 30, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

What a wonderful experience to spend two days with Robert and observe his print making process first hand. The coverage of the subject is complete and very well presented. My favorite part of the class was watching Robert as he made technical and aesthetic adjustments to the images provided by the students then printed the results. What a great feeling to see my printed images in high resolution with accurate color. The results were fantastic. When you consider the hours of frustration, wasted paper and ink that can be part of learning to print by trial and error, this class is a great value.

Robert
August 30, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Robert's Master Printing Class was terrific in content, communication, timespan, and energy. His method of explaining his work step by step while working with student files provided sequential, differentiated, and personalized instruction without interruption. He showed respect for every participant's learning level and shooting style, while holding a very high caliber of printing standard. This was one of the best workshops I have taken, so i highly recommend it.

Jen Breitenstein
July 30, 2016

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

First of all I have to say "thank you, Robert" for having all these great workshops available and for being such an inspiration both in photography and in life in general! My first workshop with Robert was the Acadia Autumn Adventure in Oct. 2015. I had such an amazing time and learned so much that week, that I just had to come to this workshop. First of all, Robert's passion for photography and education are so evident in the way he teaches and coaches students. Whether you have technical skills you need help with or questions about any aspect in photography, he is always available for guidance. In the field, he does not tell you how to set up a photo but rather allows you to create your own image and if needed, will help make the image stronger, if you feel you are not quite capturing what you envision. He does not hover over you but he always seems to be there when you need him most. That is the great thing about his workshops, the class size, truly allows for one to one coaching. The days are filled with learning. From sunrise shoots to midday class and back to sunset shoots, the learning continues throughout the day. Robert also has a gift to select amazing photographic locations and although we do go to the iconic spots in the area, Robert shows us that great photographs can be made in other parts of this vast beautiful landscape. Robert's books: Insights from Beyond the Lens and Insights from the Creative Path both were so valuable during the workshop. Both books did give me insights about photography and being in the field and once in the field, Robert is there to clarify and reinforce what you learn from the books. I cannot recommend Robert's workshop's highly enough! I have learned so much from him and I do feel like my photography has entered another level. I have met some great people and made good friends. So, if you are considering one of these workshops, I think that any one of them you might be considering will be a great choice! Hope this helps you decide~

Martha V.
July 26, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

This class was truly fantastic. Robert takes his time to explain the different aspects of the printing process, starting with paper choice and why you would choose one over the other and how it can enhance your photo. He discusses printer options and then illustrates how to post-process in Lightroom. The class size is perfect for his studio which in itself inspires me to follow my dreams of fine art photography. Robert is a natural educator and his passion for photography, education and his ability to inspire you to get out there and make art is truly worth making time to take this class. I highly recommend this printing masterclass!

Martha V.
July 26, 2016

Spring in the Southwest

5 out of 5

Robert's Spring in Arches and Canyonlands workshop was everything I had anticipated and then some. A few months have passed since the workshop and looking back at the entire experience I can honestly say that it was one that I won't soon forget. From the vast epic landscapes of Canyonlands and Arches to smaller more intimate scenes of the nearby state parks and trails, each outing felt entirely different from the previous and offered a unique look at one of the most beautiful areas in the Southwest. This diversity in locations is something that caught me by surprise and one that I appreciated tremendously. It was great to see and photograph some of the iconic locations of the two National Parks, but getting away from the crowds in the lesser known areas of Moab and its surroundings gave a deeper meaning to what we were photographing and allowed us to connect to nature on a much more personal level. Robert's teaching approach emphasized this by giving each of us the freedom to explore the location and uncover what we personally found meaningful. He would work with each of us one on one to find compositions which best told OUR story in it's most simplest form. At times I honestly felt that I was out on one of my own photo adventures and had the convenience of asking questions or getting guidance from a professional right there on the spot, not in a blog post or forum after the fact... this to me was priceless. I have never met someone with as much passion for nature and the creative process as Robert. His desire to tell a story through the lens is truly infectious and inspiring. You not only see this in the field, but in the afternoon lectures as well where he shares his thinking on his image making process and inspirations from other art forms like painting and music. To see the similarities of compositional elements such as lines, shapes, tone, and repetition and how we can use these in our own photographs to provide a clearer message is fascinating. All in all this workshop was one of the best experiences I have ever had as a photographer, creative, and nature lover. I am deeply grateful to have met Robert and hope to have the opportunity to attend another of his workshops in the near future. He has been a huge inspiration through his blog the past few years and has expanded my perception of nature and the creative process in ways unimaginable. It was so rewarding to join him finally on one of these memorable adventures.

Brandon Pidala
July 21, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I attended the June 2016 workshop in Beacon. This class is a gift you should give yourself. Robert's teaching style is approachable, articulate, constructive and thoughtful. He shows you how to get the best out of the photographs you have taken, working with each student's vision of what they want to achieve. I was learning every minute, seeing new perspectives in my photographs, and just amazed at how much I got out of it. This is truly a master class in post-processing and printing. I only wish there were more than 5 stars to give it. Thank you Robert!

Wanda
July 5, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

The print workshop was everything I expected and more. Robert is a passionate artist who is able to share his passion in an inspiring way. His teaching is thorough and his ideas compelling. While he is a professional, I never got the idea that he teaches for the money. It was always about sharing his expertise in an understandable manner so that his students could apply his knowledge in their enjoyment of photography. I knew, after only a few hours the first day, that it was well worth the cost and my long drive to attend. Larry I'Anson April 15, 2016

Lawrence
April 15, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I came back for the for the all new 2016 Robert Rodriguez "Two Day Print Workshop". Enlightening, thought provoking, inspiring, and just down right enjoyable. If this workshop offer is reopened, sign-up!

Conrad Tinney
April 6, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I just completed Robert's Digital fine art printing class and it was excellent!! Highly recommend it. As a long time Black and White film photographer and student at ICP in NYC, I wanted to explore Color Digital Photography, but more importantly, fine art printing. I feel that the ultimate goal is printing one's own work, feeling it in your hands and sharing it with others. Robert just broke everything down, he is incredible, very patient and detailed oriented. There is no doubt about it, if you want to learn how to print digital images, in a fine art manner, Robert is the person to go to. I really enjoyed the class, it was small and intimate and he fosters a constructive environment, there is plenty of time for questions and he will also show you wonderful examples of what can be accomplished by showing you his own work, which that alone is worth the trip out to Beacon. Thank you Robert! And keep on doing what you do! And thank you to your family for being such great hosts.

Jorge Monteagudo
March 23, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

If you are interested in printing your own work, this is an excellent class. Robert walks you through the whole process carefully explaining the concepts and the techniques. He is an excellent instructor and very knowledgeable. Whether a novice printer or an old hand, you will not come away without developing a more in depth understanding of printing in general and printing on fine art papers specifically. I highly recommend this course.

Virginia Kolstad
March 22, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I have just returned to Trinidad from Robert's Digital FineArt Printing Masterclass. Tremendous learning! This was a truly well-organized and enlightening class for someone who wants to get fine art printing right. Robert is extremely generous with his information and his resources in general. He is totally engaging and enthusiastic about the art of photography and specifically the printing learning curve. He goes through excellent detail in explaining paper types and choices, printing set ups and calibration of equipment and through repetition of a few basic functions I felt that in the two days I was able to climb a few notches in my printing ability. I observed Robert's work and that of other participants to appreciate how light can be used to enhance fine art photography. Robert is not pompous! He is a great professional educator and facilitator and I love the way he has managed, through his own dedication, to tackle everything from photographing his work to framing and mounting. I highly recommend this course. Before I end this note however, let me add that the class was even more enhanced by the great hospitality of Robert's wife and family who ensured that we remained healthy and fully satisfied for the workshop days. I thank them all for this experience.

Christine Norton
February 24, 2016

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I just attended the workshop on December 5th and I am very happy with I have learned. Robert is a very accomplished photographer and he also has mastered (and enjoys) the art of teaching. We were 5 students and very enthusiastic and eager to learn. He was able to explain to us in significant amount of detail what is important to know from the moment we pick up the camera to the end of the printing process. In my case I was able to understand the importance of light in my office in order to make better prints. I applied that the same night at home and the prints started to come better right away. He is a terrific educator and will be looking forward for future workshops in the future.

BRAULIO
December 8, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I had attended Robert's Printing talk at B&H event space so I knew Robert was an excellent, organized teacher. My expectations for his full day, hands on printing workshop were high and were fully met. It was a great day taking the class through all aspects of printing, including equipment, color management, some key Lightroom adjustments and the printing module. I found the portion about things to think about in picking a paper for printing particularly helpful. Robert also included some ideas on how to share and display printed photos. Robert is an excellent teacher. He has obviously given a lot of thought on how to present, what for me, has been a confusing, somewhat intimidating topic. The class size is small leaving lots of room for questions. He took us through printing a photo from each of the class allowing us to see the whole process through 5 times which really helped solidify the information he had presented. Now two weeks after the class, I find I am printing my photos with a new confidence. I highly recommend this workshop.

Linda Hacker
November 15, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Just a short note to say how much I enjoyed the Printing Workshop. You are a talented teacher. Your workshop was well organized, while still being relaxed and personal. Your grasp of the subject matter is awesome. My husband and I had the privilege of attending your Moab workshop and both of my experiences were terrific. I think you encourage each of your students to be the best photographer that they can be. Each of us comes to photography with a unique perspective and interest. You never try to impose your preferences rather you give us the tools we need to pursue our goals. I was so surprised to see that in Moab we all took pictures of the same spectacular National Park but all our pictures were so different. And at the printing workshop we each brought pictures taken and they too were very different. Yet you showed all of us how to use the tools in Lightroom to make them better. Thanks again.

Judy Josephson
November 10, 2015

Acadia Fall Adventure

5 out of 5

I had high expectations that were all exceeded. FIrst, the location just promised to be gorgeous. And from Robert's books and work which I carefully reviewed pointed that the time and money investment were going to be worth the effort. It was not only worth it, but it turned out to be one amazing personal experience. Robert is just 100% dedicated to make the learning experience effective for each student. Taking the time make sure each student is in the right path for getting our photography skills in a continuous improvement in the long term. We received strong foundation concepts and practical tips on visual design and composition for landscape photography. Throughout the 5 day workshop we received permanent guidance to experiment what we were learning. It's not easy that a 5 day workshop runs smooth if you have not planned all the details. Robert is so meticulous with shooting locations, commutes, times and even meal arrangements that it's the experience is just amazing. This is a unique opportunity that I'm just thankful I was able to be part of. Thank you to Robert for his dedication to us and to our great group of fellow students that made this experience memorable.

Guillermo Cardozo
October 19, 2015

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

I had high expectations that were all exceeded. FIrst, the location just promised to be gorgeous. And from Robert's books and work which I carefully reviewed pointed that the time and money investment were going to be worth the effort. It was not only worth it, but it turned out to be one amazing personal experience. Robert is just 100% dedicated to make the learning experience effective for each student. Taking the time make sure each student is in the right path for getting our photography skills in a continuous improvement in the long term. We received strong foundation concepts and practical tips on visual design and composition for landscape photography. Throughout the 5 day workshop we received permanent guidance to experiment what we were learning. It's not easy that a 5 day workshop runs smooth if you have not planned all the details. Robert is so meticulous with shooting locations, commutes, times and even meal arrangements that it's the experience is just amazing. This is a unique opportunity that I'm just thankful I was able to be part of. Thank you to Robert for his dedication to us and to our great group of fellow students that made this experience memorable.

Guillermo Cardozo
October 19, 2015

Hudson River School Capture to Print Workshop

5 out of 5

I've been primarily a portrait photographer for many years, and have been making photographs seriously for several decades. I have never done much landscape work, and want to get serious about it, and add to what's burned into my brain about doing portraits with a comfort level about landscape. I chose this workshop because I admire Robert's work, I love the Hudson River School painters, and because of Robert's very helpful attitude to others shown on his blog. The workshop greatly exceeded my expectations, and did just what I had hoped. Robert has lived in the Hudson Valley for many years, and knows all the good places. He easily accommodates widely varying levels of experience and different objectives among participants by working with each individually, making good suggestions, and taking the time to understand what each person is trying to do. He is friendly and focuses on each person's efforts, not on making new images of his own. Robert is one of the best teachers of visual design I have ever met. His technical knowledge of photography is encyclopedic. He has no secrets. I would take another workshop with him expecting to progress from where I am now, not repeat what I did here. His teaching is so individualized I think I could take this very workshop again and learn completely different things. A+.

John Sarsgard
September 21, 2015

Acadia Fall Adventure

5 out of 5

Outstanding workshop! Robert Rodriguez Jr is as gifted a teacher as he is a photographer. He helped me raise my photography to a whole new skill level. I felt I got much more than my money’s worth.

Gene Gibbons
August 18, 2015

Spring in Acadia

5 out of 5

Outstanding workshop! Robert Rodriguez Jr is as gifted a teacher as he is a photographer. He helped me raise my photography to a whole new skill level. I felt I got much more than my money’s worth.

Gene Gibbons
August 18, 2015

Hudson River School Capture to Print Workshop

5 out of 5

I want to thank you for a terrific Hudson River School Workshop and followup webinars. This was my 3rd workshop with you and I continue to be pleased with your choice of venues to visit and your attention to each and everyone who attended. The webinars that were scheduled after the workshop were a terrific way to learn about composition and image processing, not only with the critiques of my images but for all the attendees. I always find it fascinating to see how other photographers saw the same scene and how they presented the subject or expressed the mood at the moment of capture. I also found your application of Lightroom techniques to our images, and your explanation of how to use some of the tools, to be quite educational as while I use Lightroom, I am nowhere near “fluent” enough. Lastly, I have found that photographers who truly enjoy their craft and enjoy working with others and sharing their skills and knowledge, instill those characteristics in the attendees of the workshops that they lead. This group worked very well together and helped one another in many ways. The demeanor of the group was due in large part to your example. Looking forward to my next workshop with you. Best regards, John

John Deines
August 16, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

I attended the August 15th Digital Fine Art Printing Workshop. I have managed to produce fairly decent prints using LightRoom 5 on my Epson 3880 printer but knew they needed that finishing touch. I could have continued to read the books, experiment, print, read some more, experiment some more, keep on printing etc. - but that takes a lot of time and is costly in ink and paper. I decided to take this workshop hoping to learn those finishing techniques and tips - and I did. Robert showed how a few subtle changes can turn that average print in to one to be proud of. I was also curious to see how my image would print on Canson paper. I much prefer the way my particular Black & White print on Canson Platine Fiber Rag turned out over those I've produced on Epson UltraSmooth Fine Art Paper. So, that was a bonus I wasn't expecting. Yet another bonus, free with the workshop, is Robert's digital book "Digital Fine Art Printing-Field Guide for Photographers". It follows a logical progression, in understandable language, through the whole capture to print process and is filled with useful resources. This should be read regardless of attending his workshop or not. It was a pleasure to meet Robert. He's a genuinely decent guy and a great teacher. His studio is a comfortable and functional learning environment and his workshop was great value in my opinion.

Gareth Williams
August 15, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

5 out of 5

Most attention now-a-days is about screens, and the digital age has made it so simple to display your photos. Albeit fleeting. Left behind on the wayside is the physical existence of any creation. We can shutter thousands of images onto a single memory card, but these are mere memories, and flipping through so many on a 9in screen can be almost meaningless. I believe until an image is given physical form, there’s yet to be a creation. To achieve this, you'd need to enter a whole new world of some complexity: image processing and printing. By happenstance I started printing about 3 months ago and quickly realized I needed a whole lot more than just a good printer and my way around Adobe LR. Robert’s workshop in Fine Art Printing was exactly what I needed. He took us through all the critical aspects in image processing and printing, including equipments and selection of paper and types of media. The group was small which offered everyone great opportunity to interact. The venue was Robert’s studio, a perfect setting for first hand experience of the entire workflow. Anyone serious about moving to the next world of photography, this is an incredibly workshop. Most of all, taking this short walk with Robert Rodriguez Jr., through the journey of photography, was indeed an inspirational experience.

Edison Wong
August 12, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I attended Robert's August 8th 2015 workshop, and it was so much more than I expected. I love seeing my work printed, and two years ago started down the path to trying to understand the print process. Several books later, along with the help of youtube, I was able to produce some prints. I thought taken Robert's workshop would add to my new found knowledge. It certainly did this, but went way beyond anything I expected. First I realized how little I really did know or understand. Robert answered questions that I hadn't even thought of. He explained technology and process that was difficult for me to glean from my readings. An added caveat to this class is to sit with Robert as he works through our images in Lightroom and explains some of the development process and what we can do to enhance our work. The class was really wonderful. Even if you think you understand the print process you should take this workshop. It's an inspiration being around Robert and I would love to this him add more workshops like this to his schedule.

JOANNE DOYLE
August 10, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I have always walked away from Robert's workshops with a treasure trove of information. He explains everything in very basic terms so one can leave there feeling confident about applying it to their own work. As a professional, Robert's workshops have helped me keep up with the technology, and inspired me to push beyond my comfort zone to get the results I want.

Ronnie Farley
August 1, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

Being a Alumni of Roberts workshops I knew that the first thing that needed to be done after buying my Pro-1 printer was to take this workshop. Roberts passion for not only photography but also printing shines through in his teaching. In my opinion this workshop is a steal, the amount of information you learn is unbelievable, and worth every penny!! Thank you Robert for a great day!!

Mike Credo
July 28, 2015

Spring in the Southwest

I Attended the Arches and Canyonlands workshop this Spring and the result was a definite advance in my photographic awareness and ability to create better images. Robert is a masterful teacher with a natural easy style. He does all he can to make the week’s experience work for all students. Personally, he showed me how to transform a so-so composition I was struggling with into one that engages the viewer by taking my camera and showing me a slightly different framing and position. I won’t forget that one minute lesson. This five day immersion in landscape photography featured loads of time in the field shooting and classroom time too, but the schedule was manageable and seemed to flow. The workshop was great practice for working on technical skills and was the best thing I have ever done to improve my photographic awareness and compositional abilities. On top of that, I learned a lot about myself during the experiences of the week. I highly recommend it. Al Howard

Al Howard
July 11, 2015

Spring in the Southwest

Like others I first learned about Robert online with his talks that he gives at B&H. Based on those talks and what I learned I began to follow Robert via his website and blog. I found his blog posts and insight to be very inspiring. When I learned that Robert headed up workshops I was definitely interested in attending. I took the plunge and booked the Arches and Canyonlands workshop. At the time I had no idea what lied ahead. I can truly say this was a wonderful journey I won’t soon forget. It was a mixture of beauty, learning, fun, exploration, and so much more. Along the way Robert did everything possible to make sure all of our journeys were smooth, fun, creative, and safe. His preparation and planning was flawless. This is evidenced by how smooth each day went. Even when the weather was a bit off, Robert knew how to switch gears and find places we could shoot that lent themselves to the conditions. During this trip I saw and photographed things that were beyond my expectations. Although this was my first time to the area, it definitely won’t be my last. To anyone considering going to one of Robert’s workshops that might be unsure or on the fence I tell you go! You will enjoy the journey and learning as well as the camaraderie of good people along the way. In Robert you will find someone who is thoughtful, genuine, and one who has a passion to teach. Because of my experience during this trip I definitely plan to attend another one of Robert’s workshops again in the future. Thanks Robert, I learned so much from this experience and hope to apply everything I learned from you as I go forward with my photography!

Larry Maniccia
June 13, 2015

Hudson River School Capture to Print Workshop

I am excited to write a review of the Hudson River Valley Photography Workshop so that I can reflect upon the good feelings it elicited and the techniques I learned in the four day workshop. Overall, I highly recommend the workshop for those who want to learn and be in a amazing settings. For me, as a New Yorker, it has opened me up to the many Hudson Valley locations in which to photograph beautiful landscapes, whether it be at the base of the river or on top of a mountain. I was a little anxious about the climbing and hiking aspect of the trip given I have a desk job and exercise just a few days a week. I will say that with the least amount of equipment, and a little bit of drive, the one climb up was manageable and was the most rewarding part of my trip. Rob integrated the The Hudson River School of Painters into the workshop inspiring us via a visit to Olana, the estate of Frederich Church, as well a two lectures that focussed on the artists’ attention to light and composition. These, of course, are key ingredients to a strong photograph. While on location, Robert gave us individual attention enabling us to work on what we each needed to strengthen. For me, although I have been photographing nature for several years and have worked hard to develop my skills through reading, taking workshops and attending classes annually, there are a number of things Robert taught me that are going to enhance my photography and workflow. Robert reminded me how important it is to slow down, stay in the moment and compose your photograph in the viewfinder. This sounds obvious but I realized that I peek at the photo after every shot and lose focus about what I want to accomplish. I also learned to rely on the histogram when shooting in RAW to ensure I have captured enough information to “develop” the photograph later in Lightroom. Photography, for me, means more than taking pictures. It helps me connect to nature and thus spirit. That is what Robert is all about and we had some great conversations that further helped me put photography and life in perspective. I was inspired. All in all, I enjoyed every minute of the workshop and I take with me skills and reflections that are going to last a lifetime. Thank you Robert!!!

Carolyn Karsten
June 8, 2015

Spring in the Southwest

I first learned about Robert Rodriguez Jr. on a B&H Event Space Seminar on YouTube. The seminar was titled “Insights Into the Art and Craft of Landscape Photography”, and I was drawn to his philosophy of capturing a meaningful image. I went to his website and found the May 2015 “Spring in Arches and Canyonlands” Moab Workshop. I have wanted to go to the southwest, and Robert gave me the reason to make the trip. The workshop was wonderful and met all my expectations. My approach to taking a photograph has changed to “making images”. I now take fewer photos, and I’m much happier with those I do capture. How did this happen? It was with Roberts’s one-on-one instruction and coaching in the field as I was making an image. Robert helped me see the image in the view finder and capture exactly what was needed to reflect what I was feeling and seeing. I now take more time to study my subject and compose, which has resulted in less time needed in post processing, cropping out unnecessary elements. After the “Spring in Arches and Canyonlands” workshop I went to Monument Valley, Page AZ, Zion Nation Park and Bryce Canyon National Park. I felt a new confidence in my ability to capture the image that caught my eye, and I reinforced the instructions that Robert gave me. I would highly recommend attending Robert’s “Spring in Arches and Canyonlands” workshop. The cost is about that of a quality lens, but the benefits go far beyond what can be achieved with good glass. He will show you how to capture what you see and feel. Thank you Robert! - John T Hight

John T Hight
June 8, 2015

Spring in the Southwest

This is not a workshop in which you drive to the (iconic) location, set up to take the (iconic) sunset shot, and head back for cocktails and conversation. Not that we didn’t go to amazing locations, where iconic shots could have been taken – and were. It’s just that we were encouraged to see things freshly for ourselves, and challenged to convey that vision in the images we produced. At the outset, Robert challenged us by saying, “If the images come too easily at first, perhaps it’s because you’re not moving outside of what you already know.” There’s a lot packed in to this workshop. Sunrise and sunset shoots every day, with classroom sessions in between. Robert is meticulously prepared and knows the locations in detail. For example, after our sunrise shoot one morning, and before our afternoon classroom session, Robert hiked the trail for our sunset shoot – twice. Why twice? So he could set rock cairns for both the forward loop and the reverse path – just in case we had to leave that way. I found Robert to be thoughtful and focused on his students’ learning experience. He would remember questions asked of him, and come back to them again with a more complete answer later in the day or even the next day. Or share the question and answer with the larger group, if it seemed of broader interest. On site, he would wander from student to student, providing advice and support in a respectful and non-intrusive way. Like a good golf instructor, he knows how to focus the student’s attention to just one or two key issues, so the student maintains a creative mindset without going too much “in his head”. I’d never attended a photography workshop before, but I can testify that it’s a great way to learn. We seldom have the opportunity to fully immerse ourselves in our avocation for 5 full days, without distraction. For me, lessons in composition took on real meaning when I did my best to compose an image well, and got immediate feedback from Robert right there on site, before even snapping the shutter. Having an experienced and compassionate mentor, observing the same scene you do, but seeing so much more is truly instructive. Highly recommended!

Jeff Davis
June 8, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I recently attended the Feb 2015 Fine Art Printing workshop. I have to say it was an amazing experience. The class was intimate for one on one attention. The class was a full day with a great flow and a wealth of information. Robert has a great style for communication. Roberts passion for photography goes beyond the shutter, it extends into teaching and sharing his experiences and knowledge with others, . This workshop is the perfect example, that to truly come full circle in this craft you must understand printing .. Thank you Robert !

Annette Nieves
February 24, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

Because of my training in classical arts — pen, pencil, watercolor, oils, etc. — I believe a photograph becomes “art” only after it’s printed on paper, canvas, or something similar. Only then can we contemplate or appreciate the image we’ve created (or let others do so). During the workshop, Robert guides students through every step of the process of producing art from digital images. He approaches the workshop like a master in a studio for the classical arts, covering every step of the process from image capture to the printed image. He provides insights you only get from someone with hard-won experience, deep understanding, and passion for his subject. And the beauty of the images that grace the walls of his studio are constant inspiration. I left the workshop with renewed passion for photography, an understanding of how to produce printed images that exhibit my photographic vision, and a 11x17 inch print of one of my photographs that surpassed anything I’ve ever received from the custom photo labs I’ve worked with.

Craig Johnson
February 9, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I just wanted to tell you how much i enjoyed your printing work shop last week. The amount of information you covered was enormous and the day went by too quickly. My printing is already improving. I really appreciated the follow up email with all the reference material so i can review what i learned from time to time. I look forward to taking future workshops.

George Yetka
February 8, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I knew Robert's teaching style from B&H where I had previously attended few of his seminars. His clear and thorough style of teaching makes any subject a breeze to understand. This workshop was no exception. He explains the whole process of printing from selecting the paper and the Lightroom Print module to the tools and techniques used for framing and matting the prints. The next day he emailed all of us a comprehensive list of Fine Art Printing Resources used and mentioned during the workshop - “Software/Hardware/Hardware/Color Management”, ” Hardware and Framing Materials” , ”Material Supplies” and a list of “Additional Downloads and Resources”. At the end of the class you will have a solid starting point to begin printing your own prints. In addition, he used one picture from each student to show us few Lightroom techniques (this was an extra bonus because this is not a Lightroom class). After editing he printed them on Canson paper. I couldn’t believe the difference between what we brought in and what we took back home… The bottom line – the workshop is worth every penny.

Sorin Capota
February 3, 2015

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

ROBERT , I would very much look forward to attending one of your printing workshops but being a Sabbath observer Saturdays are not possible for me , do you plan to have any Sunday workshops or do you do and private tutorials that would be possible during the week or Sunday? Your thoughtfulness is always much appreciated Max

MAX RUDANSKY
December 21, 2014

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

Robert's printing class was an excellent opportunity to understand the intricacies of Lightroom's printing module, icc profiles, considerations for choice of paper, and final product. . His workshop was organized and had a wonderful sense of flow from start to finish. There was plenty of time for questions and he kept us all on task. So much more to know about Lightroom, but this was all about printing. After a lovely lunch, he demonstrated printing on the individual files we had brought. Each image became a better one as Robert worked through the various steps in Lightroom and some Photoshop. Would definitely recommend this to anyone working in Lightroom who wants to understand the nuances of printing a better image. Thank you Robert.

Julie Stauffer
December 16, 2014

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I just completed Robert's Fine Art Printing workshop. I had been to a couple of his presentations at B&H and had come to appreciate his teaching style and way with people. Since I was a little frustrated with my Epson and the Lightroom print module, I thought I would give the workshop a go. It was well worth it; he covers printing from soup to nuts and you walk away with many new skills and resources. I am working on some of the new local adjustment techniques I learned and his workflow advice eliminated my printer frustration. Watching Robert edit one of my images was a great experience and the small class size (5) allows much individual attention. I plan to take a shooting workshop with Robert in the near future.

Bill Gordon
December 15, 2014

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I have taken several photography-related courses at various schools in and around New York City. Robert's printing class was the best. Nine hours of well-organized, well-presented, and highly informative discussion. His demonstration of the use of Lightroom for development and printing was outstanding and I found it an inspiration to keep plugging away at photography. Worthwhile for both aspiring professionals and hobbyists.

Warren
December 15, 2014

Acadia Fall Adventure

This was an outstanding workshop. Robert was not only personable and knowledgeable but was also a fantastic teacher. Very early in the workshop he identified areas that I needed help with and continued to focus on throughout the course. I can go on and about how good the course was, one can only experience it by doing it. Highly recommended without reservation.

Kishore
October 24, 2014

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I am so glad that I took this class. It was extremely well organized and Robert is a great instructor. All the technical basics are covered in an easy to understand format. I thought the real value was in learning some of the nuances in the relationship between image and paper and watching how he brought out the best in each of the students work. I would highly recommend this to anyone who has some basic printing experience and wants to take their work to the next level.

Alan
July 29, 2014

Spring in the Southwest

Because of watching his videos, I chose to attend his Moab workshop in May. It was a phenomenal workshop! I have previously been on workshops in Colorado, one with a nationally recognized photographer-and have been disappointed. Robert's approach to photography and his approach to educating others is very definitely a gift. I learned a great deal. It was a total immersion in the theory of seeing. He excels in paying individual attention to his workshop participants and the particular needs of each. Robert's preparation and knowledge of the workshop location made for a stellar experience for me and I hope to attend another workshop with him. This workshop and Robert's metaphysical approach,( what is there? and what is it like?) to photography freed my inner vision to be allowed to photograph what I "feel" in nature. It also helps me to stop focussing only on the iconic scenes to share with others and instead compose and share other scenes as beautiful in nature. - Carol A Locke

Carol A Locke
June 26, 2014

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

I would highly recommend this workshop for someone who has had some limited experience with printing and would like to attain a higher level of finished print. Printers, papers, ICC profiles, are all covered in some detail. A basic understanding of Lightroom is helpful, since most image adjustments and printing are made here. This workshop convinced me that a good print is essential for a true representation of the artists work.

Albert Glazier
June 24, 2014

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

Money and time well spent ! The class size was perfect, and the subject matter was handled extremely well. You didn't have to be a techno-geek to understand what was being taught . Robert is an excellent instructor, I really like his style. He is a passionate artist, and has influenced me personally and I am no longer fearful of printing images. I now know why his workshops sell out so rapidly. Thank you Robert

Conrad Tinney
June 17, 2014

Spring in the Southwest

"After the first day of the Spring in Arches and Canyonlands workshop, my wife, Judy, and I knew we were in for something special. These two national parks and the surrounding areas were unique and as beautiful as any I had ever been to. The photographic opportunities were endless and Robert’s intimate knowledge of the area and planning before we got there allowed us to maximize the use of our time. Rising hours before sunrise and finishing the day after the sun had set was a commitment happily made by everyone in the group, nice easygoing people from many walks of life who shared a common goal. That was to enjoy the time and the place and to make better images. As hard as we worked, Robert worked just as hard or harder, both in the classroom and in the field. Robert has often talked and written that it’s okay to fail in the process of learning. I am old enough to be cynical when people say things like that. But it was true. While I failed many times, particularly during the first two or three days, Robert was always there to help and encourage, but never to criticize in any negative way. And when that proverbial light bulb finally went off and my pictures began to reflect many of the things Robert had been drumming into our heads, I realized how much I had learned in such a short, but intense period of time. I had become more of a master of my equipment instead of the other way around. Robert helped me learn how to see and find images that had previously been invisible to me. And, starting from scratch on the first day, I learned enough about Lightroom to get the most out of the images I had made. Robert, I want to thank you again for all your extra effort in making the workshop a truly incredible experience. Don’t say “it was my job”, because lots of people have jobs where only the minimum level of acceptable performance is given. You went far beyond that. The amount we all learned was extraordinary and we even had a few laughs in the process. You can’t ask for more than that." - Miles Josephson

Miles Josephson
June 1, 2014

Digital Fine Art Printing Masterclass

Class is worth every penny! I thought I knew lightroom, and how it worked with the printer, but the insights have already improved my prints

Charles
March 3, 2014

My jet lag is over and the red dust is vacuumed out of the camera bag so it is time to send sincere thanks for all your guidance. Your attention to details is not lost on me. One more thing: I first committed to the trip because I knew I would learn a great deal from you, your talent, and your admirable values. My preference is for urban settings vs. landscapes, and for Adirondack settings vs.the Southwest, so what better way to learn than by stepping out of the comfortable into something opposite–and it worked!

Significant experiences are a confluence of many factors–the purpose, the setting, the students and the spontaneous events which add fun and flavor. All of the above could be distilled down to two words, “False Kiva”. That hike has been entered into my Journal of Lifetime Highlights, and it alone made the entire trip worth it.

I do think your images are beautiful, to me they have an almost spiritual quality.
The large one I purchased is framed and on the wall in my new office, and looks fantastic, everyone comments on it. The office is very small, and I bought it partly to do a specific job; it’s like having an extra window on the outside world. But there’s something about that path, my mind just walks down it, almost like walking into the mind.

On behalf of Lawrence Hospital, my partner, Margaret Berenson and I want to thank you once again for not only your wonderful photographs which will now become part of the hospital’s art collection, but your incredibly prompt and willing degree of cooperation in making this all happen. As you know, the installation of everything we added – thus far – was completed a week ago and looks absolutely spectacular. Each piece is very special to us and will be admired by the hospital staff, patients and visitors alike for many years to come.
In the meantime, we want to thank you again so very much for your beautiful work, and your contribution to their art collection. It has been a great pleasure to work with you, and we look forward to hopefully repeating it again before too long.
With all best wishes

The Artist Notecards were great! My office manager loved them too! I had an older patient in here and she just had to see all of them too. (I had just opened the box before she walked in – so I had a “show and tell” day!)

It was a pleasure to work with such a professional and creative artist. Form concept, mock ups of the photo’s on our walls to installation. We could not of asked for anything more. We look forward to working with you again. –

Robert Rodriguez Jr. is a very talented photographer whose work, especially photos of the Hudson River Valley, first came to my attention when I was planning events for the Henry Hudson 400 Commemorative year in my role as executive director of Henry Hudson 400 Foundation.
Having once owned an art gallery, I am always on the look out for rising stars. After the Commemoration, I remembered his work and decided to add some of his photographs to our collection of new artists. I decided to also leave the framing to him and was very pleased with the results.
His photographs are stunning and would grace any home or office. But along with his artistic flair, he is also flexible, efficient and reliable—a pleasure to work with in every way.

Robert’s professionalism and dedication helped us achieve our goal of finding a landscape photograph for our corporate office that would connect us to the Hudson Valley. He was a pleasure to work with and we look forward to working with him and his firm again.

I purchased 4 large photographs of Hudson River landscapes from Robert for a new building at a large New York City hospital. The photos are beyond gorgeous,with a clarity and magical light that are unsurpassed by others. Robert was a pleasure to work with, and I highly recommend him as an excellent source for beautiful photographs.

I purchased a Canvas Museum print of  “Storm Clouds Over Mohonk” in a custom floater frame – It looks FANTASTIC!!!! It is like a jewel in its beauty. Love it!!!! And the packing was fantastic!
Thank you very much. Keep up the good work! Because we’ll be seeing you again…

I received my 2010 Hudson Valley Calendar, and just had to thank you for the stunning work! Every month has a spectacular landscape, but what I especially appreciate are your notes for each photo. It’s like being able to peer a bit into the mind of a landscape photographer, making it seem almost a mini photo workshop.
To top it off, you included bonus prints of a most amazing sunset! I am very happy to have found the perfect “Hudson Valley” gifts to share the natural beauty of this area with my friends and family, thanks to your exceptional photography!

…I have it hanging in my office. It looks great. I am so pleased with the feeling it conveys. The other work is also hanging in my office and is wonderful. Many thanks again for taking care of having the glass repaired. I look forward to doing business with you again.

Robert, We absolutely love it, it is already hanging up. It is quite a stunning picture. Your work is beautiful. Thank you again.

Dear Robert, We received your beautiful (20 x 30 Canvas) photograph yesterday, and you were right, it is outstanding! We love it…you’ve been wonderful to work with and I appreciate your talent, time and efforts in creating such a special 50th birthday gift for my husband.
The picture is so clear and it looks like you can touch the real texture of the rocks in the photo. Thanks again and I’m sure we’ll be in contact again.

Hi Robert, We just put the (30×38) Canvas up on our wall and it looks absolutely beautiful. We love it!! I will take a picture in the next day or two and send it to you. Thank you very much.

Thanks again for the fantastic photo from Eagle Lake. You have a real talent for spotting areas, at just the right moment, that make for great images. It serves as a nice reminder of past trips to Acadia as well as future ones.

All of the prints look great in the office (10 total), and I love the way they make me feel closer to nature and the outdoors. My patients love them as well and are always impressed. Thanks again…

I purchased several prints for our office including ‘Jordan Sunrise’ and I must say that it has a calming effect on me and my staff. I love the tranquility that it conveys. You have a great talent for capturing nature the way that it was meant to be….beautiful!

Thank you for the artwork. Everyone loves it! You truly have a wonderful gift, thanks for sharing it with others…

One of my highlight of 2013 was the workshop i did with Robert. He is a fabulous photogtapher as well as a skilled teacher Not only does he understands all of the elements of photography but he has extadinary patience and the ability to listen and clearly explain the issues. I can’t wait to take more woorkshops with him

I would highly recommend this workshop for someone who has had some limited experience with printing and would like to attain a higher level of finished print. Printers,papers,ICC profiles,are all covered in some detail. A basic understanding of Lightroom is helpful, since most image adjustments  and printing are made here. This workshop convinced me that a good print is essential  for a true representation of the artists work.

Because of watching his videos, I chose to attend his Moab workshop in May. It was a phenomenal workshop! I have previously been on workshops in Colorado, one with a nationally recognized photographer-and have been disappointed. Robert’s approach to photography and his approach to educating others is very definitely a gift. I learned a great deal.

It was a total immersion in the theory of seeing. He excels in paying individual attention to his workshop participants and the particular needs of each. Robert’s preparation and knowledge of the workshop location made for a stellar experience for me and I hope to attend another workshop with him.

This workshop and Robert’s metaphysical approach,( what is there? and what is it like?) to photography freed my inner vision to be allowed to photograph what I “feel” in nature. It also helps me to stop focussing only on the iconic scenes to share with others and instead compose and share other scenes as beautiful in nature. – Carol A Locke, Colorado

“After the first day of the Spring in Arches and Canyonlands workshop, my wife, Judy, and I knew we were in for something special. These two national parks and the surrounding areas were unique and as beautiful as any I had ever been to. The photographic opportunities were endless and Robert’s intimate knowledge of the area and planning before we got there allowed us to maximize the use of our time. Rising hours before sunrise and finishing the day after the sun had set was a commitment happily made by everyone in the group, nice easygoing people from many walks of life who shared a common goal. That was to enjoy the time and the place and to make better images. As hard as we worked, Robert worked just as hard or harder, both in the classroom and in the field.

Robert has often talked and written that it’s okay to fail in the process of learning. I am old enough to be cynical when people say things like that. But it was true. While I failed many times, particularly during the first two or three days, Robert was always there to help and encourage, but never to criticize in any negative way. And when that proverbial light bulb finally went off and my pictures began to reflect many of the things Robert had been drumming into our heads, I realized how much I had learned in such a short, but intense period of time. I had become more of a master of my equipment instead of the other way around. Robert helped me learn how to see and find images that had previously been invisible to me. And, starting from scratch on the first day, I learned enough about Lightroom to get the most out of the images I had made.

Robert, I want to thank you again for all your extra effort in making the workshop a truly incredible experience. Don’t say “it was my job”, because lots of people have jobs where only the minimum level of acceptable performance is given. You went far beyond that. The amount we all learned was extraordinary and we even had a few laughs in the process. You can’t ask for more than that.” – Miles Josephson

Just a short note to say how much I enjoyed the Printing Workshop yesterday. You are a talented teacher. Your workshop was well organized, while still being relaxed and personal. Your grasp of the subject matter is awesome. My husband and I had the privilege of attending your Moab workshop and both of my experiences were terrific. I think you encourage each of your students to be the best photographer that they can be. Thanks again.